Blog

Charged With a DUI this Labor Day in New Jersey? What to Know

Labor Day, like many summer holidays, marks a heightened risk for drunk driving incidents on the roads of New Jersey. If you have been charged with a DUI over the long weekend, it is important that you reach out to an experienced criminal defense attorney to retain their services and discover the next steps you should take.

Continue reading to learn the penalties for first, second, and third offense DUIs in New Jersey. It is important to understand that New Jersey does not take DUI charges lightly and these penalties may impact you for years to come. If you have any further questions regarding these charges, reach out to The Law Offices of Andrew S. Maze to discuss your situation and to learn your options.

What are the penalties for a first-offense DUI in NJ?

Drivers may face the following penalties after being charged with a DUI in New Jersey for the first time:

  • $500 fine
  • Up to 48 hours at the New Jersey IDRC
  • 30 days of incarceration
  • Potential loss of your license for up to 30 days
  • Install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle for 3 to 6 months

What are the penalties for a second-offense DUI in NJ?

Receiving a second-offense DUI in New Jersey may result in facing the following penalties:

  • A 2-year license suspension
  • A $1,000 fine
  • A $100 fine to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • 90 days of incarceration
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device for up to two years
  • Up to 48 hours in the New Jersey IDRC
  • A $75 fine to the Neighborhood Services Fund

What are the penalties for a third-offense DUI in NJ?

Being charged with a third-offense DUI may result in facing the following consequences in New Jersey:

  • Installation and use of an ignition interlock device
  • $100 fine to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • A $1,000 fine
  • Up to 90 days of incarceration
  • A 2-year license suspension
  • Up to 48 hours in the IDRC
  • $75 fine to the Neighborhood Services Fund

If you are facing any of the above charges, one of the first steps you should take is to reach out to an experienced criminal defense attorney to discuss your options. To learn more about the legal process ahead and how an attorney can assist you, give our criminal defense firm a call. We are prepared to fight for your rights in court.

Contact our Firm

Our firm understands how serious criminal and personal injury cases are. We are prepared to guide you towards a favorable outcome because we believe false accusations or preventable injuries should never cause a person harm. This is why those who require experienced legal counsel in New Jersey should do themselves a favor and contact The Law Office of Andrew S. Maze today for any criminal and personal injury matters.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  New Jersey Car Accident Reconstruction | What to Know

Sometimes, it can be difficult to prove fault in a car accident lawsuit. In cases like these, you may benefit from accident reconstruction. Car accident reconstruction is performed by an expert in order to determine the events leading up to the accident and what happened at the moment of collision.…

Read More
  What to Know About Pedestrian Accidents in New Jersey

Pedestrian accidents are some of the most deadly accidents that can occur. As a result, it is imperative that both drivers and pedestrians take safety measures. Read on to learn more about pedestrian accidents, how accidents happen, and what to do if an injury occurs. Common causes of pedestrian accidents…

Read More
  Dog Bite Accidents in New Jersey | What You Need to Know

Dogs are man's best friend. As a result, it can be hard to imagine a dog doing any serious damage. However, dogs can be much more dangerous than you may realize, and a dog bite can cause serious injuries. In the event of a dog bite, you may be entitled…

Read More