Woodbridge, NJ Second-Offense DUI Attorney
Defending NJ clients against second DUI conviction
Being convicted of a DUI is a serious situation that will impact your life and future. New Jersey does not take driving under the influence lightly and will actively seek out those who put other drivers in danger and prosecute those cases harshly. When a person is charged with a second DUI, the penalties only get harsher and the prosecution is more aggressive. If you are facing this serious situation, you need to contact an attorney immediately in order to give yourself the best chance of a positive conclusion. If you need quality legal support from an experienced New Jersey DUI attorney, contact The Law Office of Andrew S. Maze, Esq. Our firm in Woodbridge, NJ is ready to assess your situation, help you understand your legal matter, and passionately and effectively fight these charges. Don’t hesitate to contact us for a consultation.
Second DUI Offense
New Jersey is aggressive towards people who are caught drinking and driving. When those people are caught multiple times and are brought in front of a judge, courts are even more hostile towards the violation. People charged with a second DUI offense within 10 years face penalties, including:
- Up to 90 days of incarceration
- License suspension for 2 years
- A $1000 surcharge per year for 3 years
- A $500-$1000 fine
- 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) and related fees
- A $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund Fee
- A $100 Drunk Driving Fund
- A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund
A second DUI also comes with the possibility of having to install an ignition interlock device on any vehicle registered to you for the period of the license suspension and 1-3 years following restoration of your license. An interlock device is a mechanism placed on your ignition to ensure that you are driving without any alcohol in your system. It will stop you from starting your car if any alcohol is on your breath.
Allowing an intoxicated person to drive your vehicle
It is important that if you have been convicted of a first DUI and allow an intoxicated person to drive your car, you could face a second DUI if they are caught driving under the influence. Though you may have thought it was the right decision, the state believes that you are equally responsible for their actions because it is your car and your choice.
Contact a Middlesex County second DUI offense attorney
Just because you are facing such a serious offense does not mean that your future is ruined. Though you are looking at a bleak situation, with the right legal defense, your attorney can fight these charges and possibly have them dismissed altogether. If you were convicted of this offense, you could face years of burden and an uncertain future. The Law Office of Andrew S. Maze, Esq. has over 25 years of experience fighting DUI charges for New Jersey clients. If you need quality legal support from a knowledgeable and skilled attorney, contact our firm for a consultation today.