Woodbridge, NJ DUI Lawyer
Fighting against a third or subsequent DUI
DUIs are serious matters in the state of New Jersey as in any state in the United States. When a person is convicted of a DUI in New Jersey, they face overwhelming fines and possible jail time. When a person is charged with a third or subsequent DUI, he or she is looking at a devastating legal matter. New Jersey prosecutors are hostile towards those who are charged with multiple DUIs. If you are charged with multiple DUIs, you need an attorney that can effectively represent your legal matter in court. A multiple DUI can ruin your life and send you to prison. If you need quality legal services from an experienced and skilled attorney, contact The Law Office of Andrew S. Maze, Esq. located in Woodbridge, NJ.
Third and subsequent DUI penalties
A third DUI charge within 10 years of the previous DUI comes with mounting and overwhelming penalties. These may include:
- Up to 180 days of incarceration
- License suspension for 10 years
- A $1500 surcharge per year for 3 years
- A $1000 fine
- 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) and related fees
- A $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund Fee
- A $100 Drunk Driving Fund
- A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund
In addition, the guilty party would be mandated to install an Ignition interlock device during the license suspension and 1-3 years after the restoration of their license. This is a device that is installed to ensure that the person driving the car is not under the influence of alcohol. It resembles a breathalyzer and works in the same fashion. The mechanism will not allow the car to start if the person has any alcohol on their breath.
You can get a DUI if you allow another intoxicated person to drive your car
In the state of New Jersey, if you allow another person to drive your vehicle under the influence of alcohol, you could be held liable for their actions. This means that you could be charged with a third or subsequent DUI if they get caught driving over the legal limit. Even if you believe that you made the right decision to avoid drinking and driving, you are equally responsible for the actions of the one you allow to drive your vehicle.
Contact a Middlesex County attorney to help you fight a third DUI charge
The Law Office of Andrew S. Maze, Esq. has years of experience with DUI laws in New Jersey. If you have been caught driving under the influence of alcohol, you are facing serious consequences and a third or subsequent DUIs comes with even more serious penalties. Our diligent law firm will explore all legal defenses to downgrade the charge or have it dismissed altogether. We will work tirelessly to defend your rights and protect your future. For a firm dedicated to protecting clients, call The Law Office of Andrew S. Maze, Esq. for a consultation today.