New Jersey residents and visitors to the state love to spend weekends at the Shore. Whether at the beach or out on a boat, it is important to enjoy New Jersey’s waterfronts safely. Unfortunately, each year, there are boating accidents which can result in personal injuries or even death. It is also important that you make sure your boat is properly registered in according to New Jersey state laws.
One of the most common issues seen when a maritime accident occurs is that it was the result of boating under the influence of drugs or alcohol. If you are charged with boating under the influence, you will be facing the following penalties:
- First offense of boating under the influence: You will be required to pay a fine between $250 and $500, suspension of driver’s license for any vehicle for one year, loss of boat operation privileges for between 3 and 12 months
- Second offense of boating under the influence: You will be facing a fine between $500 and 1,000, driver’s license suspension for 24 months, 30 days of community service, and 48 hours to 90 days of imprisonment
- If a driver refuses to take a chemical breath test, they will face additional consequences of one, two, or ten years without a license plus additional fines.
If you are injured in a boating accident due to someone else’s negligence, contact an experienced personal injury attorney today. If you have been charged with boating under the influence, it is important that you consult with an experienced criminal defense attorney who can work to protect your future.
If you are in need of experienced legal counsel in New Jersey, please contact The Law Office of Andrew S. Maze for any criminal defense and personal injury matters.