Middlesex County, NJ Drug DUI Attorney

Drug DUI

Defending clients against Drug DUI charges

New Jersey has some of the country’s strictest drug laws. Law enforcement is aggressive towards those who are caught with a controlled substance. When a person is charged with a drug offense, they face serious penalties, possible jail time, and the possibility of a criminal record. When a person is caught with drugs in the car and it is determined that they are under the influence while driving their vehicle, the situation becomes even more serious. If you are charged with a drug DUI, you are also facing the drug charge. If this is a reality for you, you need to contact an attorney immediately. You are facing a serious situation that can impact your future and livelihood. The Law Office of Andrew S. Maze, Esq. in Woodbridge, NJ has over 25 years of experience defending clients across New Jersey facing drug DUIs. If you need quality legal services, contact our firm for a consultation.

Penalties for a first offense drug DUI

  • Fines ranging from $300-$500
  • Possible imprisonment of no more than 30 days
  • Possible license suspension from 7 months to 1 year
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center and fees attached
  • $1000 per year surcharge for 3 years
  • $100 to the drunk driving fund
  • $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
  • $75 Neighborhood Services Fund

Second offense

  • Fines ranging from $500-$1000
  • Possible community service for up to 30 days
  • Imprisonment of no less than 48 hours and no more than 90 days
  • 2-year license suspension
  • Surcharge of $1000 a year for 3 years
  • $100 to the drunk driving fund
  • $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
  • $75 Neighborhood Services Fund

Third and subsequent offense

  • $1000 fine
  • Imprisonment of no less than 180 days
  • 10-year license suspension
  • Detainment in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center and attached fees
  • $100 to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
  • $75 Neighborhood Services Fund

Letting another person operate your vehicle under the influence of drugs

New Jersey law states that if you allow another person to operate your vehicle under the influence of drugs and they are charged with a DUI, you will also be charged with a DUI. Even though you may believe that you have made the right decision, the fact is that you have chosen to let another person under the influence of a substance drive your vehicle, putting others in danger. If you face a DUI because of a person who drove your car, you need quality legal support immediately.

Contact a Middlesex County drug DUI attorney

If you are charged with a drug DUI, you have a very serious situation on your hands. You need the legal services of an effective DUI and drug crime attorney to fight for your future. The Law Office of Andrew S. Maze, Esq. is an experienced criminal defense law firm that has handled countless DUI cases. If you need an attorney that can effectively represent you in court after a DUI, contact The Law Office of Andrew S. Maze, Esq. for a consultation today.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  Car Accidents in New Jersey

The state of New Jersey has many roads that contain several vehicles at all hours of the day. When roads are busy and things do not go as planned, accidents can happen. Many times, car accidents result in little to no injuries. Other times, a car accident can result in…

Read More
  Drug Offenses in New Jersey

The state of New Jersey takes drug offenses very seriously and works hard to combat them. An individual in possession of illegal drugs may face life-changing consequences. Drug charges have severe penalties that can negatively alter a life forever. All drug penalties change depending on the circumstances surrounding the arrest.…

Read More
  DUI Defense in New Jersey

DUI Defense in New Jersey It is a serious charge in the state of New Jersey to be found drinking and driving. Being caught driving under the influence (DUI) is not taken lightly. A driver in New Jersey can be found guilty of a DUI if their blood alcohol concentration…

Read More