Defending clients facing a first DUI
New Jersey is aggressive towards those who are caught driving under the influence of alcohol. Law enforcement actively seeks out drunk drivers to secure the safety of others on the road. If you are caught driving under the influence, you need to contact an attorney to assess your case immediately. A DUI is a serious offense that can burden your life and livelihood. You are facing heavy penalties, including the possibility of fines, fees, and surcharges, a suspended license, the implementation of an ignition interlock device, jail time, and community service. If you face this dire situation, contact The Law Office of Andrew S. Maze, Esq. located in Woodbridge, NJ. The firm is ready to assess your case and fight for your future.
First offense DUI
Blood alcohol content (BAC) is the only scientific way to determine if someone is driving under the influence of alcohol. In New Jersey, you are considered under the influence if you have a blood alcohol content of 0.08% or higher. New Jersey separates DUI charges into different tiers related to the blood alcohol content found in the driver’s system. If you are found with a BAC of 0.8% but lower than 0.10%, you are facing serious charges. Some of these penalties include:
- Up to 30 days of jail time
- You may lose your driver’s license until you have the ignition interlock device installed
- You will have to use the ignition interlock device for 3 months
- Up to a $400 fine
- Up to $33 in court costs
- $75 for SNSF
- $50 for VCCO
- A $125 DWI surcharge
- A $100 DDEF surcharge
- Between 12 and 48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
Those arrested for a first-offense DWI with a blood alcohol content between 0.10% and 0.15% may face even harsher consequences. They are as follows:
- Up to 30 days of incarceration
- A license suspension until the ignition interlock device is installed
- The installation and use of the ignition interlock device for anywhere between 7 months and 1 year
- A potential $500 fine
- A $125 DWI Surcharge
- $75 to the SNSF
- $50 to the VCCO
- A $100 DDEF Surcharge
- Up to $33 in court costs
- Between 12 and 48 hours in the IDRC
Finally, if you were arrested for a first-offense DWI with a blood alcohol content of 0.15% or higher, you may face a 6-month license forfeiture, as well as the mandatory use of an ignition interlock device for between 9 and 15 months after your license is restored.
Under 21 DUI
If you are caught driving under the influence and you are under the age of 21, you are facing a serious situation. Any reading of a blood alcohol content (.01% or more) will subject a person to the possibility of a license suspension of 30-90 days, overwhelming fines, 15-30 days of community service, and participation in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) and related fees.
Permitting another person to drive your car under the influence
New Jersey has very strict laws about driving under the influence. If you have been drinking too much and can’t drive, you may decide to let another person take your keys because they believe that they are better equipped to get you both home safely. If that person is caught driving under the influence in your car, you will also face a DUI. Because you have chosen to let another person put other drivers at risk, the state believes that you should be equally responsible for their actions.
Contact an experienced DUI attorney
If you are facing a DUI in New Jersey, you need to consider your future. You are facing heavy penalties that can subject you to overwhelming consequences, one of which is a devastating impact on your employment or ability to get further employment. It is important to discuss your case with an experienced attorney that can help you through tough times. The Law Office of Andrew S. Maze, Esq. has over 25 years of knowledge fighting for NJ clients facing DUI charges. If you are looking at an uncertain future because of a DUI charge, contact our firm for an initial consultation.