Blog

DUI Defense in New Jersey

DUI Defense in New Jersey

It is a serious charge in the state of New Jersey to be found drinking and driving. Being caught driving under the influence (DUI) is not taken lightly. A driver in New Jersey can be found guilty of a DUI if their blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is over the legal limit of 0.08%. An individual’s BAC can be determined by a police officer administering a Breathalyzer or Alcotest. DUI charges have the potential to result in devastating fines and possibly jail time. If you have been charged with a DUI, it is important to seek experienced legal representation to guide you through your case.

First Offense DUI

When a driver is pulled over under suspicion of driving while intoxicated, there are several consequences the driver may have. For drivers with a BAC over 0.08% but under 0.10%, they may include:

  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • Loss of license for 3 months
  • A $1000 yearly surcharge for 3 years
  • A $250-$400 fee
  • A $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund fee
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Fund Fee
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund Fee
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center

Second Offense DUI

If an individual is caught driving under the influence for a second time, there are a different set of consequences than those of a first-timer. These may consist of:

  • Possible 90 days in jail
  • Loss of license for 2 years
  • A $1000 yearly surcharge for 3 years
  • A $500-$1000 fee
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Fund Fee
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund Fee
  • A $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund fee
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center

Third Offense DUI

Individuals who are charged with their third DUI within 10 years of the first charge are subject to much more severe penalties. This may involve:

  • Up to 180 days in jail
  • License suspension for 10 years
  • A $1500 yearly surcharge for 3 years
  • A $1000 fine
  • A $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund fee
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Fund Fee
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund Fee
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center

Ignition Interlock Device

When drivers are charged with a DUI more than one time, a court order may require an ignition interlock device to be installed in any vehicle registered to them. It must be installed for the entirety of their license suspension in addition to 1-3 years after having their license reinstated. The device is placed on the driver’s ignition to ensure they are not driving with any trace of alcohol in their system. The vehicle will not start if alcohol is detected on a driver’s breath.

Contact our Firm

If you have been pulled over for a DWI and wish to speak with an attorney about challenging you case, contact the Law Office of Andrew S. Maze today.

Our firm understands how serious criminal and personal injury cases are. We are prepared to guide you towards a favorable outcome. If you are in need of experienced legal counsel in New Jersey, please contact The Law Office of Andrew S. Maze today for any criminal and personal injury matters.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  How Can I Recover Compensation After a Hotel Accident in Middlesex County?

Due to its proximity to major beaches and cities in the state of New Jersey, there are many people who come to stay in Middlesex County. It is because of this that there are various hotels throughout the county to accommodate guests. During a person’s stay at a hotel, they…

Read More
  Recovering Compensation After a Staircase Accident in New Jersey

Staircases can be found in any building with more than one floor. It is because of this that they are used by many people every day. In doing so, they rarely ever think about being involved in an accident. However, staircase accidents can occur abruptly and without warning. These accidents…

Read More
  What to Expect During a First Meeting With a New Jersey Personal Injury Attorney

When a personal injury accident occurs, victims often sustain severe physical, emotional, and financial burdens. This tends to lead them to pursue legal action in order to recover compensation. This serves as coverage for these damages. During this time, it is important to retain the services of an experienced New…

Read More