Blog

Expunging a Juvenile Record in New Jersey

Expunging a Juvenile Record in New Jersey

In New Jersey, if you are 17 years of age or under, and charged with a crime, you will likely be charged as a juvenile.  Juvenile offenses, however, can still carry pretty hefty fines and penalties.  Some of the most common types of juvenile offenses are drug-related, theft, disorderly conduct, or alcohol-related offenses.

If I Committed an Offense as a Juvenile Will it Follow me Into Adulthood?

There is an incorrect assumption that if you are charged with an offense as a juvenile it will be automatically removed once you reach adulthood, or 18 years of age.  New Jersey allows you to have your juvenile record expunged under certain circumstances and once you reach a certain age.  When a juvenile’s record is expunged it is usually destroyed.  The state allows for expungement under the premise that the juvenile offender can move into adulthood with a clean slate.

Who is Eligible to Have Their Record Expunged?

New Jersey defines the certain crimes that can be expunged.  They include the following:

  • Any act that, if committed by an adult, would be considered a crime or felony;
  • Any act that, if committed by an adult, would constitute a misdemeanor offense; or
  • Any act, if committed by an adult, would be a violation of an ordinance.

Are There Eligibility Requirements for Expungement?

Someone charged with a crime as a juvenile may be able to have their record expunged if they meet certain criteria, which include:

  • There are no pending or current charged against you;
  • No more than three petty offenses on your record;
  • No indictable offenses;
  • At least 5 years has elapsed since the last time you were convicted of a crime, paid fines for a crime, were released from jail/prison, or completed probation.

If you are the parent of a child who has been charged with a juvenile crime and would like more information about getting an expungement, contact an experienced criminal defense attorney in New Jersey.
If you are in need of experienced legal counsel in New Jersey, please contact The Law Office of Andrew S. Maze to schedule a consultation regarding any of your criminal and personal injury matters.
 

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  Proving Negligence in a NJ Car Accident

When an individual is involved in an auto accident, they may sustain very serious injuries. Unfortunately, one of the major causes of motor vehicle accidents in New Jersey is driver negligence. Drivers have the obligation to make sure they are aware and alert as they operate a motor vehicle. When…

Read More
  Consequences of a High BAC DWI Charge in New Jersey

When a driver is facing a DWI charge (Driving While Intoxicated), they may also face serious consequences. A DWI charge may be given if a driver’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is over the legal limit of 0.08%. A law enforcement officer can determine a driver’s BAC through a Breathalyzer or…

Read More
  Product Liability in New Jersey

When consumers purchase a product from a company, they expect that it is safe and will function the way it is meant to. Most of the time, this is the case and there are no problems with products. However, sometimes, manufacturers can make defective products is there is a mistake…

Read More