New Jersey takes all crime very seriously and aims to hold offenders accountable for their actions. When an individual steals from another party, whether it be a store or another individual, they may be facing larceny charges. Penalties for larceny are determined based upon the value of the property that was stolen. In addition, it is important to note that larceny is broken down into two categories. Items that are stolen that have a smaller value fall under petit larceny while stealing items that have high values is considered grand larceny.
The penalties for larceny are as follows:
- Petit Larceny:
- Value of item: under $200
- Maximum fine of $1000
- Up to 6 months of jail time
- Disorderly conduct that will be handled in municipal court
- Grand Larceny in the 4th degree:
- Value of item: $200 – $500
- Maximum fine of $10,000
- Up to 18 months in jail
- Grand Larceny in the 3rd degree:
- Value of item: $501-$74,999
- Maximum fine of $15,000
- Between 3 and 5 years of jail time
- Grand Larceny in the 2nd degree:
- Value of item: $75,000 or more
- Maximum fine of up to $150,000
- Between 5 and 10 years of imprisonment
Unlike petit larceny, grand larceny cases take place in the criminal division of county court. If you have been charged with larceny, contact our firm today.
Our firm understands how serious criminal and personal injury cases are. We are prepared to guide you towards a favorable outcome. If you are in need of experienced legal counsel in New Jersey, please contact The Law Office of Andrew S. Maze for any criminal and personal injury matters.