Blog

New Jersey Underinsured Motorists

UIM coverage, also known as underinsured motorist coverage, is a way to protect yourself in a car accident. If the car that hit you has insurance but does not have enough coverage, for example in New Jersey the minimum level is usually $15,000 worth of coverage, if you have serious or significant injuries and you have a higher limit of $25,000, $50,000, $100,000 or more underinsured motorist coverage on your own policy, then we can go after your own insurance company for the difference between what the car that hit you had and what the value of your injuries are worth.
In New Jersey, it is common for people to have the Basic Policy because it is the cheapest plan that the state offers. However, it does not protect you from underinsured or uninsured motorists because their policy simply is not big enough. The Basic Policy only provides property damage liability of $5,000 and $15,000 for personal injuries.
If you have a Standard Policy, you may bring a claim against your own insurance company to pay for the remaining damages that were caused to your vehicle by an uninsured or underinsured motorist that their plan was not adequate enough to cover. If your insurance company doesn’t want to pay the remainder of the damages that were caused by an uninsured or underinsured motorist, you can make a written demand for arbitration against your insurance company.
If you are in need of experienced legal counsel in New Jersey, please contact The Law Office of Andrew S. Maze for any criminal and personal injury matters.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  Proving Negligence in a NJ Car Accident

When an individual is involved in an auto accident, they may sustain very serious injuries. Unfortunately, one of the major causes of motor vehicle accidents in New Jersey is driver negligence. Drivers have the obligation to make sure they are aware and alert as they operate a motor vehicle. When…

Read More
  Consequences of a High BAC DWI Charge in New Jersey

When a driver is facing a DWI charge (Driving While Intoxicated), they may also face serious consequences. A DWI charge may be given if a driver’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is over the legal limit of 0.08%. A law enforcement officer can determine a driver’s BAC through a Breathalyzer or…

Read More
  Product Liability in New Jersey

When consumers purchase a product from a company, they expect that it is safe and will function the way it is meant to. Most of the time, this is the case and there are no problems with products. However, sometimes, manufacturers can make defective products is there is a mistake…

Read More