There are many situations in which an individual becomes injured due to the negligence of another party. However, they are afraid to bring a personal injury lawsuit because they fear that they cannot afford the services of an attorney. Legal fees are notoriously expensive. Luckily, New Jersey has instituted laws regarding the contingency fees that an attorney is permitted to charge clients. Personal injury attorneys are paid based upon contingency fees, meaning that the attorney only gets paid if they win the case for their client. The client may also have to pay some court fees.
Many personal injury attorneys only use contingency agreements. With that said, it is important for the client to be aware of the laws in place regarding these agreements so they are not taken advantage of and are told they have to give a much greater percentage of the award than they need to. The New Jersey Court Rule 1:21-7 states that attorneys that work based on contingency fees cannot collect fees that are greater than the following percentages per awards:
- 33 and one-third percent on the first $750,000 that was recovered
- 30 percent on the second $750,000 that was recovered
- 25 percent on the next $750,000 that was recovered
- 20 percent on the next $750,000 that was recovered
If you have been injured in an accident, contact us today.
Our firm understands how serious criminal and personal injury cases are. We are prepared to guide you towards a favorable outcome. If you are in need of experienced legal counsel in New Jersey, please contact The Law Office of Andrew S. Maze today for any criminal and personal injury matters.