Using a cell phone while driving is a serious distraction. If a driver is distracted while driving it create dangerous situations. Drivers should be make sure they are alert and know their surroundings at all times.
What constitutes use of a cell phone?
Since New Jersey law prohibits use of a cell phone while driving and includes a wide range of actives that can be done on a cell phone. As a result, many people may question what exactly constitutes “use.” If a driver is using a cell phone under any of these circumstances, it may constitute use:
- Talking on a cell phone;
- Texting on a cell phone;
- Surfing the web;
- Listing to a voicemail;
- Selecting music;
- Utilizing a map or navigation tool while driving; or
- Playing games.
Although using a cell phone while driving is prohibited, the State of New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission notes on their website that a phone may be used in the event of an emergency. However, the driver must keep at least one hand on the wheel. It is always important to use judgment in these situations and, if you can, utilize a Bluetooth.
What are the fines for using a cell phone?
If you are charged with using a cell phone while driving, the penalties may be high. A first offense can include a fine of $200.00 to $400.00. A second offense may result in a fine that is can be anywhere from $400.00 to $600.00. A third offense, can result in even more serious penalties that may include a minimum fine of $600.00 to $800.00, a 90-day license suspension, and/or three points assessed on your driver’s license.
If you were charged with driving while using a cell phone, you may want to consult with an attorney to understand your rights. Contact an experienced criminal defense attorney in New Jersey.
If you are in need of experienced legal counsel in New Jersey, please contact The Law Office of Andrew S. Maze to schedule a consultation regarding any of your criminal and personal injury matters.