Blog

4th of July Fireworks Safety and Laws

With Fourth of July just around the corner, New Jersey residents are gearing up to celebrate the holiday. Many people associate the Fourth of July with fireworks displays ranging from simple sparklers to the elaborate shows that Macy’s puts on each year. It is important not only to stay safe if you are attending a fireworks display but to also be aware that consumer fireworks are illegal.
If you are injured while attending a fireworks display, you may have a personal injury case. An experienced attorney can help you find evidence that there was negligence that caused you to become injured. Fireworks accidents can result in serious burns that cause lasting impacts on your life. If negligence is proved, you may be able to collect damages for medical bills, lost wages, and pain and suffering.
In addition, it is important that you are aware of the criminal penalties that are associated with breaking state fireworks laws. There are only three states in the United States that have banned the purchase, sale, possess, and use of consumer fireworks, New Jersey included. If law enforcement finds that you have used or purchased fireworks, you may be subject to a fine of up to $500 and the potential for up to 30 days in jail. Those who have been charged with selling fireworks in New Jersey, you may face fines of up to $7,500 and up to 1.5 years in jail.
Contact an attorney who has experience in both personal injury and criminal defense who can provide you with assistance if you have issues with fireworks in New Jersey.
If you are in need of experienced legal counsel in New Jersey, please contact The Law Office of Andrew S. Maze for any criminal and personal injury matters.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  Proving Negligence in a NJ Car Accident

When an individual is involved in an auto accident, they may sustain very serious injuries. Unfortunately, one of the major causes of motor vehicle accidents in New Jersey is driver negligence. Drivers have the obligation to make sure they are aware and alert as they operate a motor vehicle. When…

Read More
  Consequences of a High BAC DWI Charge in New Jersey

When a driver is facing a DWI charge (Driving While Intoxicated), they may also face serious consequences. A DWI charge may be given if a driver’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is over the legal limit of 0.08%. A law enforcement officer can determine a driver’s BAC through a Breathalyzer or…

Read More
  Product Liability in New Jersey

When consumers purchase a product from a company, they expect that it is safe and will function the way it is meant to. Most of the time, this is the case and there are no problems with products. However, sometimes, manufacturers can make defective products is there is a mistake…

Read More