Blog

Are Breathalyzer Tests Mandatory?

I believe it’s in your interest to take a breathalyzer test. While in certain circumstances taking the test will give the police the evidence they need in order to convict you. If you do not submit to the breath test which is required by the law, you may automatically be facing certain penalties including fines, license suspension, loss of your registration, and community service. When you receive your driver’s license in New Jersey, you consent to taking a breathalyzer test whether you realized it at the time or not. In that it is a requirement of the law, I recommend you always take the breath test when it’s offered.
 
The penalties for refusing to take a breathalyzer test in New Jersey are severe and are combined with the driving while intoxicated penalties that you are already going to face. The first offense for refusing to take the chemical breath test in the state of New Jersey is 7 months to a year of license suspensions, a fine from $300-$500 and a 12-hour minimum of IDRC courses through the state. However, if you refuse to take a chemical breath test in a school zone or cross walk in New Jersey, the penalties for the first offense are much higher. They include 1-2 years of driver’s license suspension, a $600-$1,000 fine and 12 hours of IDRC courses. Those penalties only increase in severity when the refusal becomes your second, third or subsequent event. For example, a person can lose their license for 10 years on their third offense of refusing a chemical breath test as well as face a $1,000 fine and the 12 hour IDRC courses.
 
If you are in need of experienced legal counsel in New Jersey, please contact The Law Office of Andrew S. Maze for any criminal and personal injury matters.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  Recovering Compensation Following a New Jersey Supermarket Accident

Everyone goes to the supermarket from time to time. Whether it’s part of your weekly chores, or you’re doing your spouse a favor, there is a good chance you will find yourself in one at some point in the near future. However, nobody ever thinks that a mundane trip to…

Read More
  How can I Recover Compensation Following a New Jersey Elevator Accident?

Elevators are everywhere in New Jersey. This is a rather obvious fact, and most people probably never even consider it. Generally, elevators are nothing more than something you get on and off of. However, if you have been injured in an elevator accident, there’s a good chance it’s the only…

Read More
  How Can I Recover Compensation Following a New Jersey Car Accident?

Sometimes, car accidents are downright brutal. No matter how safe of a driver you are, all it takes is one negligent motorist to completely change your life forever. People see and hear the horror stories, but generally, they think those things would never happen to them. Unfortunately, this is not…

Read More