Blog

Charged With a DUI this 4th of July in NJ? What You Should Know

If you have been charged with a DUI this past Fourth of July, it is important that you speak with an experienced and knowledgeable criminal defense attorney who will fight for your rights in court. Continue reading to discover the penalties that you may face when being charged with a first, second, and third offense DUI in New Jersey. New Jersey does not take DUI charges lightly and will have severe penalties, especially for subsequent charges.

If you require the assistance of a criminal defense attorney, give our firm a call today to discuss our services and how we can assist you. Do not hesitate to reach out to our experienced criminal defense attorney who will walk you through the legal process ahead. Schedule your initial consultation with our firm today.

First-Offense DUI Consequences

If you have been charged with a first-offense DUI in New Jersey, you may face the following penalties:

  • $500 fine
  • Up to 48 hours at the New Jersey IDRC
  • 30 days of incarceration
  • Potential loss of your license for up to 30 days
  • Install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle for 3 to 6 months

Second-Offense DUI Consequences

If you receive a second-offense DUI in New Jersey, you may face the following consequences:

  • A 2-year license suspension
  • A $1,000 fine
  • A $100 fine to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • 90 days of incarceration
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device for up to two years
  • Up to 48 hours in the New Jersey IDRC
  • A $75 fine to the Neighborhood Services Fund

Third-Offense DUI Consequences

It is common for individuals facing third-offense DUIs to be sentenced to jail. Potential third-offense DUI consequences include the following in New Jersey:

  • Installation and use of an ignition interlock device
  • $100 fine to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • A $1,000 fine
  • Up to 90 days of incarceration
  • A 2-year license suspension
  • Up to 48 hours in the IDRC
  • $75 fine to the Neighborhood Services Fund

If you are facing any of the above charges, it is essential to contact a knowledgeable criminal defense attorney to discuss your options. Reach out to our firm today to discuss our services and learn how we will fight for your rights in court. To get started today, give our firm a call and we will answer any questions you might have regarding the legal process ahead.

Contact our Firm

Our firm understands how serious criminal and personal injury cases are. We are prepared to guide you towards a favorable outcome because we believe false accusations or preventable injuries should never cause a person harm. This is why those who require experienced legal counsel in New Jersey should do themselves a favor and contact The Law Office of Andrew S. Maze today for any criminal and personal injury matters.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  If I’m Hurt on My Friend’s Property, Do I Have to Sue Them?

If you have been injured on a friend's property due to unsafe conditions, you may be seeking financial compensation, but have reservations about taking legal action against your friend. If this is the case, it is important to retain the services of an experienced personal injury attorney who will walk…

Read More
  What are the Consequences of an Underage DWI in New Jersey?

New Jersey does not take underage drinking and driving lightly. You will face serious consequences for a DWI as a minor. If you are facing DWI charges as an underage individual, it is important that you reach out to a knowledgeable and understanding criminal defense attorney who will fight for…

Read More
  Charged With a DUI this 4th of July in NJ? What You Should Know

If you have been charged with a DUI this past Fourth of July, it is important that you speak with an experienced and knowledgeable criminal defense attorney who will fight for your rights in court. Continue reading to discover the penalties that you may face when being charged with a…

Read More