In New Jersey, driving without a license is illegal. Sometimes, it is simply an accident. Someone may forget their wallet at home, therefore leaving their license behind as well. Other times, someone chooses to drive with a suspended license or no license at all. These situations are dangerous and can leave you in some serious legal trouble. Read on to learn more about driving without a license in New Jersey and the potential penalties.
What is New Jersey’s New Law Regarding Teen Licenses?
In an effort to reduce crowds at the MVC, New Jersey lawmakers have passed a new law. This law states that teenagers who have passed their road tests can use their validated permits as a temporary driver’s license. So, while some teens will technically be driving without an official driver’s license, the rest of us will still have to have valid driver’s licenses. Read on to learn more about driving without a license in New Jersey and what the penalties may include.
License Not in Possession
This occurs when you have a valid driver’s license but it is not currently on your person. In this case, you may face a fine of $150.
Driving Without a Valid License
This occurs when someone drives without having ever obtained a valid driver’s license. In this case, you may face fines of $200 to $500 and up to 60 days in jail. If convicted, you will also be prohibited from obtaining a driver’s license for at least 180 days.
Driving With a Suspended or Revoked License
Having your license suspended or revoked usually means you have engaged in some dangerous behavior, resulting in the suspension of your license. If you are caught driving anyway, you will face a $500 charge. If you are caught for a second time, you will face a $750 fine and one to five days in jail. Anyone convicted of a third or subsequent offense may face a $1,000 fine and ten days in jail.
If you are pulled over for any of the above reasons, make sure to contact a skilled traffic attorney. A traffic attorney may be able to lower your fines.
If you or a loved one is pulled over for driving without a license, contact our firm today to discuss your case.
Contact our Firm
Our firm understands how serious criminal and personal injury cases are. We are prepared to guide you towards a favorable outcome because we believe false accusations or preventable injuries should never cause a person harm. This is why those who require experienced legal counsel in New Jersey should do themselves a favor and contact The Law Office of Andrew S. Maze today for any criminal and personal injury matters.