Blog

Drugged Driving in New Jersey | What You Need to Know

Drunk driving is very serious. However, drugged driving has a different reputation. In fact, many people don’t think twice about drugged driving. According to a study done by Buzzfeed and PBS Research, half of marijuana users in the US think they’re fine to drive stoned. Like drunk driving, drugged driving is incredibly dangerous, and has serious legal repercussions as a result. Read on to learn more about drugged driving in New Jersey.

What are the penalties for a first-offense drugged driving charge in New Jersey?

If you are charged with a drug DUI for the first time, you may face the following penalties:

  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • License suspension for up to 12 months.
  • Required installation of an ignition interlock device
  • 48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • $1,000 surcharge every year for 3 years
  • $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
  • $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee
  • $500 fines
  • Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund $100

What are the penalties for a second-offense drugged driving charge in New Jersey?

If you are charged with a second DUI, you will be seen as a repeat offender, thus increasing your charges. This can result in:

  • Up to 90 days in jail
  • License suspension for up to 2 years
  • Install and use an ignition interlock device for up to 3 years after license restoration
  • 30 days of community service
  • $1,000 fine

What will happen if I am charged with a drugged DUI for the third time in New Jersey?

A third DUI will not be taken lightly. A third or subsequent DUI can result in jail time, the loss of your license, and more. If you are charged with a third DUI, you may face:

  • Up to 180 days in jail
  • Install and use the Ignition Interlock Device
  • License suspension for 10 years
  • Participation in the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center
  • $1,000 fine

If you are facing charges of drugged driving, you will need the help of an experienced criminal defense attorney. A skilled attorney will work to have your charges reduced or even dropped. Contact our firm today to discuss your case. The sooner you reach out, the sooner we can begin building your case.

Contact our Firm

Our firm understands how serious criminal and personal injury cases are. We are prepared to guide you towards a favorable outcome because we believe false accusations or preventable injuries should never cause a person harm. This is why those who require experienced legal counsel in New Jersey should do themselves a favor and contact The Law Office of Andrew S. Maze today for any criminal and personal injury matters.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  Underage DUIs

Summer parties and celebrations are in full swing, especially for young people. From birthdays to prom nights to graduations, these occasions hold a special place for teens. Get-togethers provide opportunities to bond with friends, create memories, and celebrate milestones. However, when alcohol enters the picture, the dynamics of these events…

Read More
  Navigating Juvenile Personal Injury Claims

Navigating juvenile personal injury claims represents unique challenges and considerations for legal professionals and families. When a child is injured due to negligence or misconduct, it's crucial to understand the legal framework surrounding these cases and provide compassionate support to the young victims and their families throughout the process.  Unique…

Read More
  The Emotional Impact of Slip and Fall Injuries

Client Support Through the Legal Process Slip and fall accidents can result in more than just physical injuries. Beyond broken bones or sprains, victims often endure significant emotional trauma. Personal injury attorneys should recognize and address the emotional impact of slip and fall injuries while guiding client suits through the…

Read More