The state of New Jersey takes driving under the influence of drugs and/or alcohol very seriously. Thanksgiving weekend is known as a time when people return back to their hometowns from all over the country and want to enjoy their time together. It is understandable to want to celebrate the holidays and homecoming reunions with friends and family but it is also important to create a plan of how you will safely get home if you are drinking.
Drinking and driving is a serious offense in New Jersey, as it not only puts the life of the driver at risk but also the lives of everyone else on the road. Therefore, state and local police officers will be setting up DWI checkpoints throughout the state to look for anyone who appears to be driving under the influence.
With so many other options today, such as Uber, Lyft, taxis, and mass transit, it is surprising that so many people still choose to get behind the wheel after having too much to drink. Not only that, the consequences of driving under the influence are quite serious. Some of these repercussions for a first offense DUI include the following if your Blood Alcohol Content is between a 0.08 and a 0.10:
- Up to 30 days of incarceration
- License suspension for 3 months
- A $1000 surcharge per year for 3 years
- A $250-$400 fine
- 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) and related fees
- A $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund fee
- A $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
- A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee
Of course, if you have a high BAC, have previous offenses, or are under the age of 21, your penalties will increase tremendously. If you have been charged with a DWI, contact our firm today for strong legal representation.
Our firm understands how serious criminal and personal injury cases are. We are prepared to guide you towards a favorable outcome. If you are in need of experienced legal counsel in New Jersey, please contact The Law Office of Andrew S. Maze today for any criminal and personal injury matters.