Blog

Injuries on the Job

The first thing that you need to do when you get hurt at work is to report the accident immediately. If you’re at your worksite, you should report it to your manager, supervisor, or human resources department. If you’re offsite, you may need to call the police or report it to one of the offsite managers or supervisors. It’s very important that you document the fact that you got hurt at work as soon as possible so that the employer cannot claim that the injuries happened somewhere else. Then you need to tell your employer exactly what your injuries are so they can direct you to right medical treatment.
 After you report your injuries to your employer, they will need to inform their insurance company who will then file a First Report of Injury with the State of New Jersey. After that, the insurance company will contact you and attempt to obtain all of the necessary information about your accident and the injuries that you have obtained from the accident. The insurance company will have to determine whether or not you should be eligible for workers’ compensation benefits and if you are, you will have to only seek medical attention from the physicians that are provided by your insurance company. If you are out of work for more than 7 days, you may also be eligible to receive temporary disability benefits from the insurance company. The 7 days of work do not have to be sequential. Temporary disability benefits only account for about 70 percent of the wages that you have lost while you were not able to work. Once you are well enough to return to work, the insurance company needs to file a form called the Subsequent Report of Injury within 26 weeks of your return.
 If you are in need of experienced legal counsel in New Jersey, please contact The Law Office of Andrew S. Maze for any criminal and personal injury matters.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  If I’m Hurt on My Friend’s Property, Do I Have to Sue Them?

If you have been injured on a friend's property due to unsafe conditions, you may be seeking financial compensation, but have reservations about taking legal action against your friend. If this is the case, it is important to retain the services of an experienced personal injury attorney who will walk…

Read More
  What are the Consequences of an Underage DWI in New Jersey?

New Jersey does not take underage drinking and driving lightly. You will face serious consequences for a DWI as a minor. If you are facing DWI charges as an underage individual, it is important that you reach out to a knowledgeable and understanding criminal defense attorney who will fight for…

Read More
  Charged With a DUI this 4th of July in NJ? What You Should Know

If you have been charged with a DUI this past Fourth of July, it is important that you speak with an experienced and knowledgeable criminal defense attorney who will fight for your rights in court. Continue reading to discover the penalties that you may face when being charged with a…

Read More