Blog

Accident Scene Desertion

In New Jersey, when you leave the scene of an accident and you are charged with that offense, the penalties are quite severe. If there is personal injury, you’re risking jail and loss of your license for up to one year for a first offense and a permanent loss of your license for a second or subsequent offense. In addition, you will receive 8 points on your license if you leave the scene of an accident when there is an instance of personal injury. You will be fined an additional surcharge of $150 if you acquire 6 or more points over the last three years. There is also an additional charge of $25 for every other point after you have received 6 points. So, if you leave the scene of an accident and receive 8 points, you will owe $200 in surcharges each year, and that’s assuming you don’t have any other points on your license already.
If you leave the scene of an accident with property damage only, you’re still risking a high fine and loss of your driving privileges for six months. If you leave the scene of an accident and there is no personal injury, just property damage, you will receive two points on your license. However, an attorney with experience in these situations can go into court with you and create some defenses for you that maybe will lessen your charges.
If you are in need of experienced legal counsel in New Jersey, please contact The Law Office of Andrew S. Maze for any criminal and personal injury matters.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  What to do After a Pedestrian Accident in New Jersey

Many people walk as a means to get somewhere or as a form of exercise. It is important for pedestrians to be aware of their surroundings at all times. This is because it is possible to be involved in an accident with an automobile while walking. Pedestrians do not have…

Read More
  Recovering Compensation After a Bike Accident in New Jersey

Many people bike alongside roads throughout New Jersey. This can sometimes cause a distraction for drivers, creating a potentially hazardous environment. Poor weather and road conditions can also contribute to putting a biker in danger. This is why it is crucial for bikers to be aware of their surroundings and…

Read More
  Proving Negligence in a New Jersey Personal Injury Case

Personal injury accidents happen when a person becomes injured or dies due to another party’s negligence. These accidents can impact a person for the rest of their life. Because of this, the individual who is harmed in the accident can hold the negligent party responsible for their actions. This can…

Read More