Blog

New Jersey Blood Alcohol Content

In New Jersey, there are certain blood alcohol content levels that determine, if you’re convicted or plead guilty, what the severity of the sentence you will receive will be. The minimum blood alcohol content you need to meet in order to be convicted is .08 percent.
If you are convicted of having a blood alcohol level of .08 or .09, your license suspension will be for 3 months. If this is your first offense DUI and your blood alcohol level is below .15 percent, the court may require you to have the interlock device installed for 6 months-1 year after your driving privileges have been restored. Interlock devices are expensive to purchase and also require a monthly fee to own. It is a device that you will have to install in your car and blow into each time you start your vehicle. If the interlock device reads a blood alcohol level over .05 percent, the car will not start. If your limit is .10 to .14, your penalty will now be 7 to 12 months suspension. If your limit is .15 or higher, your penalty will be 7 to 12 months license suspension plus the imposition of an interlock device during both your license suspension and for 6 months-1 year after your driving privileges have been fully restored. In the event that you have a second, third or subsequent offense for a DUI, the court will require you to have the interlock device in your car during your license suspension that can last from 2-10 years and then for an additional 1-3 years after your driving privileges have been restored.
If you are in need of experienced legal counsel in New Jersey, please contact The Law Office of Andrew S. Maze for any criminal and personal injury matters.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  Who Can I Sue After an Airport Accident in New Jersey?

There are thousands of people that can be seen in and out of New Jersey airports on a daily basis. When the grounds of an airport are not taken care of, these individuals can be put in harm’s way, possibly resulting in a personal injury accident. These situations often cause…

Read More
  What are the Drug Laws in the State of New Jersey?

The state of New Jersey holds very strict laws regarding drugs. Drug crime convictions can result in significant penalties that can impact the offender for the rest of their life. The criminal justice system can be confusing and overwhelming, which is why those facing these situations should retain the services…

Read More
  Can I Receive Money After Sustaining a Catastrophic Injury in New Jersey?

People who are involved in accidents can suffer from different kinds of injuries as a result. Sometimes, they are only temporary and can be treated. However, there are many circumstances in which these injuries cause irreversible damages. This is the case in the event of catastrophic injuries. Victims who sustain…

Read More