Blog

Legal help with a speeding ticket

In New Jersey, a lawyer is the one person who can absolutely help you with your speeding ticket. Depending on the court that you are appearing before and the specific judge that you are appearing in front of, you may be facing points, fines, and possibly even a license suspension depending on the speed by which you were charged by the officer. An experienced municipal court lawyer, such as myself, can go into court with you, meet with the prosecutor and officer if necessary, and try to downgrade your charges to either less points, less fine, no suspension, or in some cases, down to an offense called unsafe driving, which is a no-point violation that comes with a higher fine but entitles you to not receive any points.
Speeding tickets can vary in severity depending on how many miles per hour over the speed limit you were going, whether or not you were in a school zone, whether or not you were in a construction zone, or whatever the case may be. For example, if you were caught speeding between 1 and 14 miles per hour over the speed limit anywhere in New Jersey, you may receive 2 points on your license. However, if you were exceeding the speed limit by 30 or more miles per hour, you face a penalty of 5 points on your license. With a lawyer, you may be able to get the number of points knocked down to 2 or 3 points, instead of 5. I have successfully negotiated many of these cases for my clients over the past 25 years.
If you are in need of experienced legal counsel in New Jersey, please contact The Law Office of Andrew S. Maze for any criminal and personal injury matters.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  Proving Negligence in a NJ Car Accident

When an individual is involved in an auto accident, they may sustain very serious injuries. Unfortunately, one of the major causes of motor vehicle accidents in New Jersey is driver negligence. Drivers have the obligation to make sure they are aware and alert as they operate a motor vehicle. When…

Read More
  Consequences of a High BAC DWI Charge in New Jersey

When a driver is facing a DWI charge (Driving While Intoxicated), they may also face serious consequences. A DWI charge may be given if a driver’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is over the legal limit of 0.08%. A law enforcement officer can determine a driver’s BAC through a Breathalyzer or…

Read More
  Product Liability in New Jersey

When consumers purchase a product from a company, they expect that it is safe and will function the way it is meant to. Most of the time, this is the case and there are no problems with products. However, sometimes, manufacturers can make defective products is there is a mistake…

Read More