Blog

Marijuana Possession in New Jersey

Despite the fact that more and more states are leaning towards legalizing the recreational use of marijuana, it is still illegal in New Jersey and is also federally considered a Schedule I drug. Individuals who do break the laws regarding marijuana possession in New Jersey will face significant consequences. The consequences are even more severe if the amount of marijuana that the individual has in their possession leads law enforcement to believe that they had the intent to distribute the drug to other individuals.
Marijuana charges can have a significant impact on one’s future. The consequences for the possession of marijuana in New Jersey include the following:

  • 50 grams or fewer results in a disorderly persons offense, up to 6 months of incarceration and a fine of up to $1,000
  • More than 50 grams is a crime, resulting in up to 1.5 years of incarceration and a maximum fine of $25,000
  • If the individual was arrested within 1,000 feet of a school, they will also face additional fines and 100 hours of community service

Anyone who has been arrested on marijuana possession charges should retain the services of an experienced criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. An experienced attorney can look for all possible defenses on behalf of the individual who has been accused and determine if they qualify for Drug Court, Pre-Trial Intervention, or Conditional Discharge. Any criminal defense matters require strong legal representation, as the penalties are very significant and life-altering. If you have been arrested for marijuana possession in New Jersey, contact our firm today.
Our firm understands how serious criminal and personal injury cases are. We are prepared to guide you towards a favorable outcome. If you are in need of experienced legal counsel in New Jersey, please contact The Law Office of Andrew S. Maze for any criminal and personal injury matters.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  Proving Negligence in a NJ Car Accident

When an individual is involved in an auto accident, they may sustain very serious injuries. Unfortunately, one of the major causes of motor vehicle accidents in New Jersey is driver negligence. Drivers have the obligation to make sure they are aware and alert as they operate a motor vehicle. When…

Read More
  Consequences of a High BAC DWI Charge in New Jersey

When a driver is facing a DWI charge (Driving While Intoxicated), they may also face serious consequences. A DWI charge may be given if a driver’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is over the legal limit of 0.08%. A law enforcement officer can determine a driver’s BAC through a Breathalyzer or…

Read More
  Product Liability in New Jersey

When consumers purchase a product from a company, they expect that it is safe and will function the way it is meant to. Most of the time, this is the case and there are no problems with products. However, sometimes, manufacturers can make defective products is there is a mistake…

Read More