Blog

Slip and Fall Accidents in NJ

Property owners are obligated to maintain their property, regularly monitoring it for hazards that may cause visitors and passersby harm. If they breach that duty, you may be able to bring a claim for your injuries and get compensation for your injuries. If you are injured after a fall, call for medical attention, take photographs, and as soon as you can, report that incident to the store, or property owner, or police. In addition, if you are able, talk to witnesses of the accident. If needs be, contact an attorney to send someone to the scene of the accident to preserve evidence.
After you slip and fall, your attorney will search for the liable party, the property owner. It is important to have evidence that they knew or should have reasonably known about the hazard that caused your injury. Making your own case is called the burden of proof, a legal principle that requires the victim of a serious injury to demonstrate evidence of negligence.
In addition, you may be limited in your time to bring a lawsuit. This is called a statute of limitations. In New Jersey, the statute of limitations for personal injury is 2 years. To file against a municipality, a person has 90 days to file a notice of claim, letting the government know that you are going to bring a lawsuit against it. Because of the statute of limitations, it is important to speak with an attorney as soon as possible.
If you are in need of experienced legal counsel in New Jersey, please contact The Law Office of Andrew S. Maze for any criminal and personal injury matters.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  Proving Negligence in a NJ Car Accident

When an individual is involved in an auto accident, they may sustain very serious injuries. Unfortunately, one of the major causes of motor vehicle accidents in New Jersey is driver negligence. Drivers have the obligation to make sure they are aware and alert as they operate a motor vehicle. When…

Read More
  Consequences of a High BAC DWI Charge in New Jersey

When a driver is facing a DWI charge (Driving While Intoxicated), they may also face serious consequences. A DWI charge may be given if a driver’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is over the legal limit of 0.08%. A law enforcement officer can determine a driver’s BAC through a Breathalyzer or…

Read More
  Product Liability in New Jersey

When consumers purchase a product from a company, they expect that it is safe and will function the way it is meant to. Most of the time, this is the case and there are no problems with products. However, sometimes, manufacturers can make defective products is there is a mistake…

Read More