Despite the fact that the nationwide attitude towards marijuana is gradually evolving, there are still harsh consequences for those caught possessing, distributing, or cultivating marijuana. If you are facing a marijuana-related drug offense, you must read on and hire an attorney who is willing to fight for your rights. Here are some of the questions you may have regarding your legal standing going forward:
What happens if I am caught in possession of marijuana in New Jersey?
Marijuana possession is taken very seriously in New Jersey, and, in some cases, may even warrant jail time. Consequences for marijuana possession in New Jersey are as follows:
- 50 grams or less: A disorderly person penalty, up to 6 months in jail, and a $1,000 fine
- More than 50 grams: Possession of more than 50 grams is a crime, so you face up to 1.5 years in jail and $25,000 fine
What are the penalties for being caught selling or having the intention to sell marijuana?
If you are caught distributing or with the intent to distribute marijuana, you will face serious penalties, so you must consider hiring an experienced attorney who is ready to aggressively combat your charges. You may face the following consequences:
- Less than 1 ounce: Up to 1.5 years in jail, $25,000 fine
- More than 1 ounce, but less than 5 pounds: 3-5 years in jail, $25,000 fine
- Between 5 pounds and 25 pounds: 5-10 years in jail, $150,000 fine
- More than 25 pounds: 10-20 years in jail, $300,000 fine
- If you are caught distributing marijuana within 1000 feet of a school or school bus: 3-5 years in jail, $150,000 fine
Also, those who were caught selling marijuana to pregnant women may have their sentences doubled.
What happens if I am caught growing marijuana in New Jersey?
You may face the following penalties for the cultivation of marijuana in New Jersey:
- For growing 1 ounce, but less than 5 pounds (or less than 10 plants): 3-5 years in jail, $25,000 fine
- For growing 5 pounds, though less than 25 pounds (or 10, but less than 50 plants): 5-10 years in jail, $150,000 fine
- For growing more than 25 pounds, or 50+ plants: 10-20 years in jail, $300,000 fine
Contact our experienced New Jersey firm
Our firm understands how serious criminal and personal injury cases are. We are prepared to guide you towards a favorable outcome because we believe false accusations or preventable injuries should never cause a person harm. This is why those who require experienced legal counsel in New Jersey should do themselves a favor and contact The Law Office of Andrew S. Maze today for any criminal and personal injury matters.