Blog

New Jersey DWI Law to Take Effect December 1, 2019

New Jersey has recently revised a law pertaining to first-time DWI offenders. If you are someone who is charged with a DWI, you must read on to learn more about how this law may affect you. Here are some of the questions you may have:

How did New Jersey change its DWI law?

Essentially, New Jersey realized that by suspending people’s licenses for first-offense DWI’s, the shame they feel from losing their jobs due to lack of mobility from a license revocation often causes them to drink more, and therefore further contributes, or even starts, a vicious cycle. This is why New Jersey has recently changed its laws to favor ignition interlock devices over harsh license suspensions for first-time offenders. If you are caught with a BAC of 0.08%-0.10%, you will face the following consequences:

  • Mandatory ignition interlock device installation and use for 3-6 months
  • A 30-day license suspension
  • A $250-$500 fine
  • 12-48 hours at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (or IDRC)
  • Up to 30 days in jail

If this is your first offense with a BAC of 0.10%-0.15%, you will use the ignition interlock device for 6 months to a year and receive a license suspension of 45 days. If you had a BAC over 0.15%, you will face a 90-day license suspension and have to use the interlock device for 12-18 months.

What are the consequences of a second DWI within 10 years of the first?

The penalties for repeat offenders in New Jersey are as follows:

  • A $500-$1000 fine
  • A $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund fee
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee
  • Up to 90 days in jail
  • 2-year loss of license
  • $1000 yearly surcharge for 3 years
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center

What are the consequences of a third or subsequent New Jersey DWI?

Third or subsequent DWI offenders cannot afford to wait any longer to hire an attorney. If this is your third offense, you will face the following consequences:

  • A $1000 fine
  • A $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund fee
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee
  • Up to 180 days in jail
  • 10-year loss of license
  • A $1500 yearly surcharge for 3 years
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

Our firm understands how serious criminal and personal injury cases are. We are prepared to guide you towards a favorable outcome because we believe false accusations or preventable injuries should never cause a person harm. This is why those who require experienced legal counsel in New Jersey should do themselves a favor and contact The Law Office of Andrew S. Maze today for any criminal and personal injury matters.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  Underage DUIs

Summer parties and celebrations are in full swing, especially for young people. From birthdays to prom nights to graduations, these occasions hold a special place for teens. Get-togethers provide opportunities to bond with friends, create memories, and celebrate milestones. However, when alcohol enters the picture, the dynamics of these events…

Read More
  Navigating Juvenile Personal Injury Claims

Navigating juvenile personal injury claims represents unique challenges and considerations for legal professionals and families. When a child is injured due to negligence or misconduct, it's crucial to understand the legal framework surrounding these cases and provide compassionate support to the young victims and their families throughout the process.  Unique…

Read More
  The Emotional Impact of Slip and Fall Injuries

Client Support Through the Legal Process Slip and fall accidents can result in more than just physical injuries. Beyond broken bones or sprains, victims often endure significant emotional trauma. Personal injury attorneys should recognize and address the emotional impact of slip and fall injuries while guiding client suits through the…

Read More