Earlier this summer, Governor Christie signed a bill into law that has an impact on when your driver’s license will expire. Beginning in January 2018, driver’s license expiration dates will occur on the driver’s date of birth. The primary goal behind this change in legislation is to improve the wait times at the state’s Motor Vehicle Commissions offices. Now that the expiration date of driver’s licenses is on each person’s birthday, the MVC won’t be quite as crowded as it was when licenses expired on the last day of each month.
It is important that you make yourself aware of the changes in this law. If your license is set to expire in 2018, make sure you do not wait until the end of the month to go get a new one. If you do and you are pulled over after your birthday, you can be charged with driving with an expired license. In the state of New Jersey, if you are caught driving with an expired license, you will be charged with a $100 surcharge for three years, which totals in $300.
If you do not pay your yearly surcharges, you may face a license suspension. It is essential that you get your license renewed on your birthday so you don’t turn into an innocent person who now has points on his or her record or is facing a license suspension simply because you didn’t know.
If you need assistance with a traffic violation, give us a call today.
Contact The Law Office of Andrew Maze
If you are in need of experienced legal counsel in New Jersey, please contact The Law Office of Andrew S. Maze for any criminal and personal injury matters.