Blog

Texting and Driving in NJ

Since the popularity of cellphones has taken off, the amount of people who use them behind the wheel has drastically increased. Studies show that texting and driving is even more dangerous than driving under the influence of alcohol. New Jersey is working to crack down on illegal mobile device use in order to keep the roads safe. However, New Jersey drivers are permitted to use their cell phone in a “hands-free” manner, such as through Bluetooth or features on newer vehicles, including Apple CarPlay or Android Auto.
There are a number of fines and fees associated with texting and driving. Those who are issued a first violation will be subject to a fine between $200 and $400. If a driver is caught illegally using a hand-held mobile device behind the wheel for a second time, they face an increased fine that falls between $400 and $600. Finally, third and subsequent offenders will be subject to a fine of anywhere from $600 to $800. It is important to know that if you have a third or subsequent texting and driving offense conviction, you will have three points added to your driver’s license. When you have points added to your license, it will result in increased monthly insurance premiums. In addition, if you have too many points on your license, it may even result in a license suspension. Third or subsequent texting and driving offenses may result in the suspension of your license for an additional 90 days.
It is important that drivers abide by the texting and driving laws of New Jersey for the safety of themselves and the others around them. If you have been issued a traffic ticket for texting behind the wheel, contact an experienced attorney.
 

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  Who Can I Sue After an Airport Accident in New Jersey?

There are thousands of people that can be seen in and out of New Jersey airports on a daily basis. When the grounds of an airport are not taken care of, these individuals can be put in harm’s way, possibly resulting in a personal injury accident. These situations often cause…

Read More
  What are the Drug Laws in the State of New Jersey?

The state of New Jersey holds very strict laws regarding drugs. Drug crime convictions can result in significant penalties that can impact the offender for the rest of their life. The criminal justice system can be confusing and overwhelming, which is why those facing these situations should retain the services…

Read More
  Can I Receive Money After Sustaining a Catastrophic Injury in New Jersey?

People who are involved in accidents can suffer from different kinds of injuries as a result. Sometimes, they are only temporary and can be treated. However, there are many circumstances in which these injuries cause irreversible damages. This is the case in the event of catastrophic injuries. Victims who sustain…

Read More