The consequences of drunk driving are thoroughly understood in our society, but what about drugged driving? Continue reading to discover the consequences of drug DUIs in New Jersey. If you are facing drug DUI charges, it is important that you retain the services of an experienced criminal defense attorney.
What are the penalties for a first-offense drugged driving charge in New Jersey?
Being charged with a first-offense drugged driving DUI can result in any of the following penalties in New Jersey:
- Up to 30 days in jail
- License suspension for up to 12 months.
- Required installation of an ignition interlock device
- 48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
- $1,000 surcharge every year for 3 years
- $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
- $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee
- $500 fines
- Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund $100
What are the penalties for a second-offense drugged driving charge in New Jersey?
New Jersey does not take second offenses lightly when it comes to driving under the influence of drugs. You may face the following consequences if you have been charged with a second-offense drugged driving DUI:
- Up to 90 days in jail
- License suspension for up to 2 years
- Install and use an ignition interlock device for up to 3 years after license restoration
- 30 days of community service
- $1,000 fine
What will happen if I am charged with a drugged DUI for the third time in New Jersey?
When an individual is convicted of a third or subsequent charge for a drugged DUI, they may be looking at much more severe consequences. New Jersey law cracks down on these circumstances in an attempt to limit these dangerous driving behaviors. If you have found yourself in this situation, it is important that you retain the servers of an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney who will fight for your rights in court. You must find an aggressive and knowledgeable attorney who understands the weight that charges such as these may have on your livelihood and future. The consequences for a third drugged driving offense in New Jersey are as follows:
- Up to 180 days in jail
- Install and use the Ignition Interlock Device
- License suspension for 10 years
- Participation in the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center
- $1,000 fine
You will require the assistance of a skilled criminal defense attorney if you are facing drugged driving charges in New Jersey. Contact our firm today to learn how we can assist you.
Contact our Firm
Our firm understands how serious criminal and personal injury cases are. We are prepared to guide you towards a favorable outcome because we believe false accusations or preventable injuries should never cause a person harm. This is why those who require experienced legal counsel in New Jersey should do themselves a favor and contact The Law Office of Andrew S. Maze today for any criminal and personal injury matters.