Blog

What are the Penalties for a First Offense DUI?

DWAI drugsIf you are convicted or plead guilty to a first offense DUI in New Jersey, you’re facing fines and other court costs holding approximately $700-$800. New Jersey will surcharge you what’s called a DUI surcharge, which is $1000 a year for 3 years. If you fail to pay the DUI surcharge fees, you will face indefinite suspension of driving privileges as well as an action filed against you in the State Superior Court by the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission that may put a lien on your property or redact it from your wages. In addition, on your first offense you will lose your license for either 3 months or 7-12 months depending upon the specific reading of your blood alcohol test. You are facing 2 days at the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center, which is a 12-hour class given to drivers convicted of driving while intoxicated. In addition, your insurance may be canceled by your provider or your premiums may be increased.
In some cases, the first offense DUI may be combined with a refusal to take a breathalyzer charge, if the person in question neglected to submit to a chemical test. This will give the offender an additional 12-hour course at the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center as well as license suspension for 7 months-1 year and a fine between $300 and $500. It is also important to know that in a first offense DUI case, if you are under the legal drinking age of 21 years old, you also must face penalties including a 30 to 90-day license suspension and 15-30 days of community service.
If you are in need of experienced legal counsel in New Jersey, please contact The Law Office of Andrew S. Maze for any criminal and personal injury matters.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  Underage DUIs

Summer parties and celebrations are in full swing, especially for young people. From birthdays to prom nights to graduations, these occasions hold a special place for teens. Get-togethers provide opportunities to bond with friends, create memories, and celebrate milestones. However, when alcohol enters the picture, the dynamics of these events…

Read More
  Navigating Juvenile Personal Injury Claims

Navigating juvenile personal injury claims represents unique challenges and considerations for legal professionals and families. When a child is injured due to negligence or misconduct, it's crucial to understand the legal framework surrounding these cases and provide compassionate support to the young victims and their families throughout the process.  Unique…

Read More
  The Emotional Impact of Slip and Fall Injuries

Client Support Through the Legal Process Slip and fall accidents can result in more than just physical injuries. Beyond broken bones or sprains, victims often endure significant emotional trauma. Personal injury attorneys should recognize and address the emotional impact of slip and fall injuries while guiding client suits through the…

Read More