Blog

What are the Penalties of Drugged Driving in New Jersey?

Just as it is illegal to drive under the influence of alcohol, it is illegal to drive under the influence of drugs. This includes any and all narcotics, hallucinogens, or habit-producing drugs. If a driver chooses to violate the law and drive under the influence anyway, they can face serious charges that come with life-impacting consequences. Continue reading below to learn more, continue reading below and contact an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney.

What is Implied Consent?

The state of New Jersey imposes what is known as the law of implied consent. This means that drivers who are suspected to be under the influence of alcohol consent to providing a chemical test just by driving. This can include a breath, blood, or urine test to determine their level of intoxication. However, the law does not require individuals suspected of drugged driving to take a chemical test. Any chemical samples from these stops must be voluntary and penalties cannot be imposed if the driver refuses to take a test.

What are the Penalties of Drugged Driving?

Drivers who violate the law by operating a vehicle under the influence of drugs can face the following penalties depending on the offense:

  • First offense: A fine between $300 and $500, a period of detainment for 12-48 hours during two consecutive days of no less than six hours each day, a term of imprisonment for no more than 30 days, and the forfeiture of their rights to operate a vehicle on highways in New Jersey for seven months to one year.
  • Second offense: A fine between $500 and $1000, community service for a period of 30 days, imprisonment between 48 hours and 90 days, and the forfeiture of their rights to operate a motor vehicle on highways in New Jersey for two years.
  • Third or subsequent offense: A fine of $1000, imprisonment for a minimum of 180 days in county jail or a workhouse and maximum of 90 days, participation in a drug/alcohol inpatient rehab program approved by the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center, the forfeiture of their rights to operate a vehicle on the highways in New Jersey for 10 years, and the installation of an ignition interlock device.

Contact our Firm

Our firm understands how serious criminal and personal injury cases are. We are prepared to guide you towards a favorable outcome because we believe false accusations or preventable injuries should never cause a person harm. This is why those who require experienced legal counsel in New Jersey should do themselves a favor and contact The Law Office of Andrew S. Maze today for any criminal and personal injury matters.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  Underage DUIs

Summer parties and celebrations are in full swing, especially for young people. From birthdays to prom nights to graduations, these occasions hold a special place for teens. Get-togethers provide opportunities to bond with friends, create memories, and celebrate milestones. However, when alcohol enters the picture, the dynamics of these events…

Read More
  Navigating Juvenile Personal Injury Claims

Navigating juvenile personal injury claims represents unique challenges and considerations for legal professionals and families. When a child is injured due to negligence or misconduct, it's crucial to understand the legal framework surrounding these cases and provide compassionate support to the young victims and their families throughout the process.  Unique…

Read More
  The Emotional Impact of Slip and Fall Injuries

Client Support Through the Legal Process Slip and fall accidents can result in more than just physical injuries. Beyond broken bones or sprains, victims often endure significant emotional trauma. Personal injury attorneys should recognize and address the emotional impact of slip and fall injuries while guiding client suits through the…

Read More