What are the penalties of a High BAC charge
In New Jersey, individuals over 21 years of age are permitted to drive with up to 0.07 percent alcohol in their bloodstream. However, once that percentage reaches 0.08 or higher, they can be charged with driving under the influence of alcohol because they have surpassed the legal limit. The penalties for any driving under the influence charge are severe but it is important to note that with each subsequent offense, the penalties escalate. In addition, when an individual is charged with driving under the influence with a BAC of 0.10 percent or higher, they are facing high BAC penalties that are greater than those associated with a standard DUI.
When an individual is facing high BAC charges, they may be subject to the following consequences:
- Up to 30 days of time in jail
- A fine between $300 and $500
- A driver’s license suspension for 7-12 months
- Between 12 and 48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center and associated fees
- $100 fee to the Drunk Driving Fund
- $75 Neighborhood Services Fund
- $1000 surcharge each year for 3 years
- $100 to the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund Fee
After being arrested for a high BAC DUI, it is essential to retain the services of an experienced attorney who can explore all possible defenses in your case. If you are facing DUI charges in New Jersey, contact our firm today.
If you are in need of experienced legal counsel in New Jersey, please contact The Law Office of Andrew S. Maze for any criminal and personal injury matters.