Blog

Previous DUI Convictions

In New Jersey, when you are convicted of driving under the influence, the penalty varies whether it’s your first offense, second offense, third, or more. However, if your last offense was more than 10 years ago, it will not be counted against you in sentencing. For example, if this is your second DUI but your prior DUI was over 10 years ago, your new case will be counted as a first driving under the influence and you will be sentenced accordingly.
 If you get charged with driving under the influence for the second time within a ten-year period, you will lose your license for two years as well as face anywhere from 48 hours to 90 days in jail. You will need to pay a $500-$1,000 fine as well as a $1,000 surcharge each year for three years, in addition to several other fees, fines and surcharges. In addition to all of that, you will need to do 30 days of community service, 12-48 hours of IDRC courses and have an ignition interlock device put into your car that makes you take a chemical breath test every time you get into your car for 1-3 years after your driving privileges have been restored.
 If this is your third offense for driving while intoxicated within ten years, you will lose your license for ten years, face 180 days in prison, pay a $1,000 fine as well as a $1,500 surcharge each year for three years, among many other fees. In addition to those penalties, you must do 90 days of community service, some of which may reduce your prison sentence. You will also have to do 12-48 hours of classes in the IDRC and have the ignition interlock device in your car for 1-3 after your driving privileges have been restored.
Having multiple DWI’s on your record can affect your life for years after your offenses have occurred. The penalties in New Jersey are very severe and you will need experienced legal counsel to help you with your case.
If you are in need of experienced legal counsel in New Jersey, please contact The Law Office of Andrew S. Maze for any criminal and personal injury matters.
 

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  How can I Recover Compensation Following a New Jersey Elevator Accident?

Elevators are everywhere in New Jersey. This is a rather obvious fact, and most people probably never even consider it. Generally, elevators are nothing more than something you get on and off of. However, if you have been injured in an elevator accident, there’s a good chance it’s the only…

Read More
  How Can I Recover Compensation Following a New Jersey Car Accident?

Sometimes, car accidents are downright brutal. No matter how safe of a driver you are, all it takes is one negligent motorist to completely change your life forever. People see and hear the horror stories, but generally, they think those things would never happen to them. Unfortunately, this is not…

Read More
  Recovering Compensation Following a New Jersey Mass Transit Accident

People who commute throughout New Jersey take advantage of its efficient mass transit network. While trains and buses are generally regarded as safe and reliable, this is not always the case. Sometimes, there are mass transit accidents, which, as you can imagine, are often very severe. If you have been…

Read More