If you have been charged with an underage DWI in New Jersey, it is important to know what to expect regarding potential penalties and consequences. To learn more about the underage DWI consequences in New Jersey, continue reading and reach out to our experienced criminal defense attorney who will work to protect your rights in court. To discover more about our services and how we can assist you with your charges, contact our firm today. We are here to help.
What are the penalties for an underage DWI?
If you are found to be driving with a blood alcohol content of .01% or above as an underage driver, you will be charged with a DWI in New Jersey. If you are charged with a DWI for the first time as an underage individual, your penalties will depend on your BAC
You will face the following penalties if you are charged with a BAC of .08-.09%:
- Up to 30 days of incarceration
- Suspension of license for 3 months
- Engagement in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center and applicable fees
- $1,000 yearly surcharge for 3 years
- $250 and $400 fines
- $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
- $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee
- $100 for the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
You can expect your charges to be increased if you are found to be driving with a BAC of .10% or above. Subsequent DWI charges will result in more severe penalties.
If you are a minor and you are found drinking and driving, you will face the following potential penalties:
- License suspension for 30-90 days
- Participation in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) and related fees
- 15-30 days of community service
What should I do after being charged with an underage DWI?
If you have been charged with an underage DWI in New Jersey, it is important that you retain the services of a knowledgeable criminal defense attorney who will fight to reduce your charges and penalties. Our experienced legal team at The Law Office of Andrew S. Maze will explore all avenues of defense on your behalf. We are prepared to fight for your rights in court. Our firm understands the weight that an underage DWI charge may have on your future. To learn more about our services and how we can assist you, give our firm a call today to schedule your initial consultation.
Contact our Firm
Our firm understands how serious criminal and personal injury cases are. We are prepared to guide you towards a favorable outcome because we believe false accusations or preventable injuries should never cause a person harm. This is why those who require experienced legal counsel in New Jersey should do themselves a favor and contact The Law Office of Andrew S. Maze today for any criminal and personal injury matters.